Newly created module not showing in ACP


Topic author
Aleyah
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 13. February 2014 16:07

Newly created module not showing in ACP

Post by Aleyah » 13. February 2014 16:37

Hello!

I'm here because I need help to create a new module for Board3.

As I'm setting up a new website for a FFXIV Free Company (Same as guilds in WoW), I try to create some new modules for Board3 and phpBB. The first I'm working on is a Recruitement Module which will work almost the same as talonos Warcraft Guild Recruitment block. (Thanks for the inspiration, I'll try to be as close in functionnality but I won't steal your code or, if necessary, will respect the copyrigth :geek: )

The problem is : As I want to test my module on my phpBB installation, I can do a correct installation with the dedicated page in the Board3 configuration but then, I'm unable to add my block in any of the columns of my portal.

I hope I missed something realy simple and that you'll be able to help me!

Here is my git with the code i'm using : https://github.com/Kyah/board3_ffxiv_recruitement

And my web host informations :
:arrow: phpBB 3.0.12
:arrow: Board3 2.0.2
:arrow: php 5.4.25

Thanks! :)

PS : Sorry if my English isn't that good, I'm not a native English speaker :oops:

User avatar

talonos
Portal Specialist
Portal Specialist
Posts: 233
Joined: 7. June 2009 15:12
phpBB.com User: talonos

Re: Newly created module not showing in ACP

Post by talonos » 13. February 2014 21:48

i've had a look @ your code and removed ALLOT of whitespace and checked things over but still cannot get it to display in the add module page. the upload process works fine.

i even went and streamlined the vars a little so it was a little more readable so i could check over the code and thats still popped up the problem. at first i thought it was a conflict with my recruitment module but its not.

to be honest you can edit my code OR if i have the TIME! and you could provide me with a little info i could possibly build the ACP module for you.
Creating board3 website? check the sites out below for board3 compatible extensions
Talonos: Pretereo stormrage EU

User avatar

talonos
Portal Specialist
Portal Specialist
Posts: 233
Joined: 7. June 2009 15:12
phpBB.com User: talonos

Re: Newly created module not showing in ACP

Post by talonos » 14. February 2014 00:03

ok so i got it going for you :)

http://pretereo-stormrage.co.uk/board3_ ... alonos.zip

take note of a change in filenames to reduce conflicts AND also changes to the Lang template aswell all you have to do now is setup your style html with the revised vars/lang and your up and running

just check over the code and tell me if you have any problems
Last edited by talonos on 16. March 2014 13:52, edited 1 time in total.
Creating board3 website? check the sites out below for board3 compatible extensions
Talonos: Pretereo stormrage EU


Topic author
Aleyah
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 13. February 2014 16:07

Re: Newly created module not showing in ACP

Post by Aleyah » 14. February 2014 10:47

Thanks! It works :D

So it seems my problem was the name of my module which was to long or maybe in conflict?

Now that I've a base to work with, I'll try to do something as good as yours 8-)

User avatar

talonos
Portal Specialist
Portal Specialist
Posts: 233
Joined: 7. June 2009 15:12
phpBB.com User: talonos

Re: Newly created module not showing in ACP

Post by talonos » 14. February 2014 19:32

i just rebuilt the module and lang files with the info i could get from your original file. saved me messing around looking for the error. also streamlined it a little for you and gave it a little mark up here and there. i hope it works nicely for you :)
Creating board3 website? check the sites out below for board3 compatible extensions
Talonos: Pretereo stormrage EU

User avatar

talonos
Portal Specialist
Portal Specialist
Posts: 233
Joined: 7. June 2009 15:12
phpBB.com User: talonos

Re: Newly created module not showing in ACP

Post by talonos » 16. March 2014 13:52

did you get this module completed and if so would you like to have it up on my support site for others to make use of it ?
Creating board3 website? check the sites out below for board3 compatible extensions
Talonos: Pretereo stormrage EU

Return to “Modifications Support”