Page 1 of 1

How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 23. February 2009 13:53
by Greight
Your Portal Version: 1.0.0RC3
Your phpBB Type: Standard phpBB3
MODs installed: Yes
Your knowledge: Beginner
Boardlink: http://enz.ir

What have you done before the problem was there?


What have you already tryed to solve the problem?


Description and Message
Hi
I just want to put online indicator for Yahoo on the portal main page. Is it possible? If yes how can do that ?
Any help is appreciated
Thx

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 23. February 2009 18:17
by Mike
Yahoo indicator?
Any links or something? ;)

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 23. February 2009 19:12
by Greight
Dear Mike
I mean those codes that show an image on the page that shows whether webmaster is offline or online in Yahoo
I dun know whether those codes can be applied in php pages :?

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 23. February 2009 22:51
by Mike
Ok... what i want to know was: would you use your own code - eg php or javascript ect. - or would you use a service like onlinestatus.org ?

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 24. February 2009 08:33
by Greight
Well I dont know what I should do exactly. Can you help me to do this please ?
Thx

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 24. February 2009 13:33
by Mike
The only thing i know is: You want to have such an indicator on your Portal. Neither i know where nor what a kind of.
So i only can tell you how to make it the easiest way:

To add an indicator, place this code where you want to show the button.

Code: Select all

<img border="0" src="http://opi.yahoo.com/online?u=YOUR_ID_HERE&m=g&t=1"/>
You can customize the button by alternating the last number between 1 to 16. In my example i use the "1".

If you want to make your button klickable for users to send you an pm via Messenger, take this code

Code: Select all

<a href="ymsgr:sendIM?YOUR_ID_HERE"><img border="0" src="http://opi.yahoo.com/online?u=YOUR_ID_HERE&m=g&t=1"/></a>
If you want to show your yahoo Picture, add this line:

Code: Select all

<img src="http://img.msg.yahoo.com/avatar.php?yids=YOUR_ID_HERE&format=jpg" />
Dont forget to add your ID instead of "YOUR_ID_HERE" ;)

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 24. February 2009 16:28
by Greight
So u mean I should put that code in portal.php or elswhere ?
Thx 4 ur responses

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 24. February 2009 16:49
by Mike
No. Thats html code, and you have to put it in in any template. (*.html) As first you have to know where you want it to have. Then i cant tell you the locoation for the code ;)

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 24. February 2009 21:11
by Greight
Again thanks for your support
I want it to be in the right side menu of the portal in a single block entitled 'support' or sth like that :)

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 24. February 2009 23:44
by Mike
You have to make a new Block called yahoo.html
styles/Bl@ck/template/portal/block/yahoo.html

Paste this code into your new file:

Code: Select all

<div class="portal-panel">
	<div class="inner">
		<span class="portal-corners-top"><span></span></span>
			<h3>Support</h3>
			<div style="text-align: center;">
			
                 <a href="ymsgr:sendIM?YOUR_ID_HERE"><img border="0" src="http://opi.yahoo.com/online?u=YOUR_ID_HERE&m=g&t=1"/></a>
 
			</div>
			<br />
		<span class="portal-corners-bottom"><span></span></span>
	</div>
</div>
<br style="clear:both" />
open your portal_body.html
styles/Bl@ck/template/portal/portal_body.html

find:

Code: Select all

<!-- [+] right block area -->
	<td valign="top" style="width: {PORTAL_RIGHT_COLUMN}px; padding-left:6px;">
		<br style="clear:both" />
add after:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE portal/block/yahoo.html -->
If you want to have the new Block not on top of the right column, you only need to paste the line between the blockincludes where you want to have... This should be easy enough ;)
If not, feel free to ask again ;)

Re: How to put Yahoo indicator on Portal ?

Posted: 25. February 2009 07:53
by Greight
Oh thanks man ! Your tutorial seems comprehensive enough ! Im testing it . :D

THX

Posted: 25. February 2009 08:43
by Greight
Again THANKS :D
It worked seamlessly
Just I had typed Greight with the first letter in capitalas the yahoo id which caused it always show offline , then I typed greight and everything is now fine ! :lol: :lol: