Adding link in Portal Menu

Current Version: 1.0.6
Released: 09.01.10
Forum rules
Before creating a new support thread, please take a look in the board3 Portal FAQ and use the search!
Many questions have already been answered.
Locked

Topic author
Khamosh-Saya
Valued Contributor
Posts: 50
Joined: 9. February 2009 08:11
phpBB.de User: Khamosh-Saya
phpBB.com User: Khamosh-Saya

Adding link in Portal Menu

Post by Khamosh-Saya »

Your Portal Version: 1.0.0RC3
Your phpBB Type: Standard phpBB3
MODs installed: Yes
Your knowledge: Beginner
Boardlink: http://www.friendzpoint.com

What have you done before the problem was there?


What have you already tryed to solve the problem?
Nothing

Description and Message
i want to add link button in portal Menu Block like arcade, Gallery, mChat
How can i?
User avatar

m4ddy
Active Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 12. November 2009 16:37

Re: Adding link in Portal Menu

Post by m4ddy »

Hi, a step by step manual you'll find here: knowledge/kb_show.php?id=16

if you want to use a Picture as Link-Button it should work if you just change this line:

Code: Select all

<li><a href="{U_ARCADE}">{L_ARCADE}</a></li>
to this:

Code: Select all

<li><a href="{U_ARCADE}"><img src="your_style/imageset/your_picture.png" alt="Arcade games" /></a></li>
this would be an very simple Method. May be it could be possible to change the Value for {L_ARCADE} this way in lang_portal.php, but i don't know if this would work.
autorenforum-zeilenweise

Alle Angaben, wie immer, ohne Gewähr!

Topic author
Khamosh-Saya
Valued Contributor
Posts: 50
Joined: 9. February 2009 08:11
phpBB.de User: Khamosh-Saya
phpBB.com User: Khamosh-Saya

Re: Adding link in Portal Menu

Post by Khamosh-Saya »

Thanks
I try Knowledge Base :)
User avatar

Mike
Former Team Member
Posts: 1862
Joined: 3. July 2008 23:59
Location: Schwarzwald / FDS
Contact:

Re: Adding link in Portal Menu

Post by Mike »

m4ddy wrote:May be it could be possible to change the Value for {L_ARCADE} this way in lang_portal.php, but i don't know if this would work.
This is not advisable since you shouldnt have any html code into the language files, and furthermore you dont change the linktext just for the menu but wherever the linktext occours. ;)
kein Support per PN / Messenger
no Support via PM / Messenger
User avatar

m4ddy
Active Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 12. November 2009 16:37

Re: Adding link in Portal Menu

Post by m4ddy »

yes, but should be better than change it in main_menu.html cause it's not felxible, if you change Language or something.

but please correct me if i'm wrong it's realy interesting for me. :)
autorenforum-zeilenweise

Alle Angaben, wie immer, ohne Gewähr!
User avatar

Mike
Former Team Member
Posts: 1862
Joined: 3. July 2008 23:59
Location: Schwarzwald / FDS
Contact:

Re: Adding link in Portal Menu

Post by Mike »

I would change it directly in main_menu.html or whatever file who contains a list of links.
If i remember right, i read at phpBB.com (or de) that html in languagefiles is a bad idea. Dont ask me why. :?
kein Support per PN / Messenger
no Support via PM / Messenger
Locked

Return to “board3 Portal 1.0.x - English Support”