[Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v3.1.x)

Forum rules
This forum is not for support requests.

Only post Modifications for Board3 Portal 1.0.x in this forum.

Topic author
Dr Nick^
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 81
Joined: 11. August 2009 13:56

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.1)

Post by Dr Nick^ »

hey jerk,

to be honest, i already suspected a question about that.
And i already read into things How to make them.

Since there are a lot of things you can with answering questions, there are a lot of things you can make.

atm i'm not in a place where i can edit quickly and check what you have to change.
but will try later on.

what i was thinking about,
was simply: Disable/enable button for each question.
then a drop down box with selections: textfield, textarea, radio buttons (yes/no) and maybe more.
I wanted to implement this for all, i repeat all, questions. but need a little test ofc ;)

let me know what you thinking about. and maybe some more ppl with some suggestions.

Nick
[Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v3.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2663
[Rel] Ventrilo Block + ACP sup.(v1.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2665

neo4u
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2. September 2009 15:57
phpBB.com User: neo4u

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.1)

Post by neo4u »

on my forum when someone(guest) tries to click on link to open application form it insists that the login or register on the forum to get access to it.

Is it supposed to work that way? I have tried altering the permissions for guests relating to the forum in question but it still demands login/ registration.

Topic author
Dr Nick^
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 81
Joined: 11. August 2009 13:56

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.1)

Post by Dr Nick^ »

yes it is mandatory to have an account to see the application form.

the reason why i did that, cause when you submit the form, then asks for a login,
you get send back to the page without any answers etc.
i should have a better understanding of the whole page to make that work correctly ;)
[Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v3.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2663
[Rel] Ventrilo Block + ACP sup.(v1.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2665

thepips
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 23. December 2008 16:50
phpBB.com User: thepips

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.1)

Post by thepips »

This is really really stupid of me but I can't see the application form on the demo site! Where is it supposed to be?

Regards
Doug

ps I'm registered on there as "the pips"

Topic author
Dr Nick^
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 81
Joined: 11. August 2009 13:56

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.1)

Post by Dr Nick^ »

http://www.mx-hosting.nl/board3/application.php

Since its my test site, i didnt make a link in the menu yet:P
today working on new system
[Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v3.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2663
[Rel] Ventrilo Block + ACP sup.(v1.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2665

Sevennl
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 13. June 2009 11:50
phpBB.de User: Sevennl
phpBB.com User: Sevennl

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.1)

Post by Sevennl »

An idea would be to use an include for the big chunks of text, which is much easier to maintain when updating PHPbb.
With every update of the forum i need to reinsert most of my mods again which is a pain as is run several mods.
Keeping a .txt file with the used Include links and there location is much user friendly than a 4 page text chunk.

great mod never the less, and very useful as we see a lot of crappy application posted on our forums.

Topic author
Dr Nick^
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 81
Joined: 11. August 2009 13:56

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.1)

Post by Dr Nick^ »

i can see where you are going, and with the new changes in mind.
You have a good point, because it will be some wall of text.

saw teksonic using different files for acp support also etc,
gonna check how he did it ;)


and he, idea's always welcome ofc
[Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v3.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2663
[Rel] Ventrilo Block + ACP sup.(v1.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2665

Swinder
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 25. July 2009 16:43

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.1)

Post by Swinder »

Hey, I got this working on my site and it does exactly what I need, however it does not carry my style over into the form.

If you look at; http://www.conquesteu.com and then; http://www.conquesteu.com/application.php you will see what I mean.

I am aware this was intended for Prosilver themes and mine is Subsilver theme but what I need to know is there a work around so I can get my theme to carry correctly into the form?

Also is their a way to reduce the width of the block as it affects my blocks on the left side?

Topic author
Dr Nick^
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 81
Joined: 11. August 2009 13:56

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.2)

Post by Dr Nick^ »

Hey there.

been busy lately so thats why late response.
But .. v2.2 released with subsilver2 support.
v2.2 subsilver2 fully working

only 2 lines of code changed in style, but hey, it supports it ;)


To Swinder:

open: styles\subsilver2\template\portal\block\applicationform.html

find (ppb on line 6):

Code: Select all

		<div class="content" style="width:750px;">
since you are using 800 width, 650/600 will do i guess. (when you change, dont forget to clear your cache to see changes!!)

Change to:

Code: Select all

		<div class="content" style="width:650px;">
[Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v3.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2663
[Rel] Ventrilo Block + ACP sup.(v1.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2665

groundhack
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 25. September 2009 21:25

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.2)

Post by groundhack »

Hi dr nick, great mod by the way.

Im having a small problem that I cant figure out. The installation went smooth, however on the application the text boxes have a white background, and the font color is white. You cant see anything that you are typing in. I have the same problem with the submit and reset buttons they are both just white boxes. Any help you can give me? I assume that the text boxes are some kind of style problem but I cant figure out what to edit. Thanks

Topic author
Dr Nick^
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 81
Joined: 11. August 2009 13:56

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.2)

Post by Dr Nick^ »

the buttons are used with an style,
both styles should work.

but if you can give a little more info about what style you are using then i can maybe help you.
mine text area's dont use styles. so i dont think thats the problem, unless its overrules in a css ;)
[Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v3.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2663
[Rel] Ventrilo Block + ACP sup.(v1.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2665

mp95gp
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 1. August 2009 08:32

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.2)

Post by mp95gp »

@Dr Nick

After you submit an application, there is a spelling error. If I remember correctly, its something about "tight" but was spelled like "thight". It's a spelling error I would like to correct. Could you direct me to where exactly I could change it myself (that way, I could also put a custom message there someday if i want!)

Also, I am not sure as I did not look too far into any coding, but any time someone types an apostrophe (') is shows up as a backslash and apostrophe (/'). It doesn't matter if it is the text of the question or the persons response, both show up as /' . Again, not sure if this is a pain in the ass, or whatever, as I did not look at the code of the files you provided, but just giving a heads up that there is another super small error with it! (This part might just be my site, but any insight on where to begin fixing this would be great).I am going to make a guess figuring it is part of this coding that is causing the issue, but I do not know php that well:

Code: Select all

	$script_path = trim(dirname($script_name)) . '/'.$phpbb_root_path.'index.' . $phpEx;
	$script_path = preg_replace('#[\\\\/]{2,}#', '/', $script_path);
Thanks!

Topic author
Dr Nick^
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 81
Joined: 11. August 2009 13:56

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.2)

Post by Dr Nick^ »

hey there,

thnx for adressing the typo, can happen :) aint the best in english, did tried to do my best ;)

Map: \root\styles\prosilver\template\portal\block\applicationform.html

Line: Some where deeeeep in the bottom. you will see it when you scroll down. (almost @ bottom)



About that quote you said. i tried all chars use-able that could interrupt things like that. but on both my forums they show correctly,
i basicly use the boards methods to make/create the post. So i cant figure out why its causing the \ by you.

you could check: \root\portal\block\applicaitonform.php

you see commented 'Posting Part', below there the post starts to create.
as you can see i only use:

Code: Select all

$text = utf8_normalize_nfc($message);
generate_text_for_storage($text, $uid, $bitfield, $options, $allow_bbcode, $allow_urls, $allow_smilies);
$text = generate_text_for_display($text, $uid, $bitfield, $options);
and the posting is done by the functions_posting and message_parser.
maybe someone else with the same problem? or an admin knows where its comming from?
Or maybe some detailed log files (maybe there are some errors with includes or something)?
[Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v3.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2663
[Rel] Ventrilo Block + ACP sup.(v1.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2665

neo4u
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2. September 2009 15:57
phpBB.com User: neo4u

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.1)

Post by neo4u »

Dr Nick^ wrote:yes it is mandatory to have an account to see the application form.

the reason why i did that, cause when you submit the form, then asks for a login,
you get send back to the page without any answers etc.
i should have a better understanding of the whole page to make that work correctly ;)

Is there anyway to change this so that people who are not registered can use application form? as it kind of puts people of that they have to register to apply to a guild that they may not get accepted to.

Topic author
Dr Nick^
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 81
Joined: 11. August 2009 13:56

Re: [Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v2.2)

Post by Dr Nick^ »

i can.

must find out how guest can post and how that works first.
never use it, so never checked it ;)

we just let them register, make app. and if they got declined we just delete accound and lock toppic.
makes it also control-able. little more work. but better then all possible spam etc .

but when i got time will try to look into it (well be seperate release or something)
[Rel] (WoW) Application form + ACP sup. (v3.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2663
[Rel] Ventrilo Block + ACP sup.(v1.1) => http://board3.de/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2665

Return to “board3 Portal v1.0.x - Modifications”